Views (from the Passenger’s Seat)

Last week, I spent a lot of time in the passenger’s seat. I had a lot of time to think, to wonder, to hope, to dream as I traveled north and south and north and south visiting my family–at home and in two separate hospitals. It was a lot of time, a lot of sitting, and a lot of coffee (but no alcohol!).

I was grateful, I was sad. There were smiles, there were tears, there were sniffles, there was Springsteen. All in those passenger’s seats. From four Amtrak trains, to my mother’s car, to the Uber that brought me the rest of the way home in the rain.

The sun shone bright in New York, but once I arrived in Philly, the grey blanket of clouds that shrouded the mid-Atlantic states for over two weeks returned and so did my sadness. It was hard to leave, it was hard to go home–to my new home in Virginia–but I did it.

And I will always cherish the views I got from those passenger’s seats.

Leave a Reply

