Sick Days and Springsteen

I had every intention of going into the office this morning…last night when I went to bed. But when I couldn’t sleep and then woke up with a splitting headache and feeling like my stomach was trying to exit my body, I realized it’d be better if I stayed home.

I tried teleworking and then quickly realized I’d be miserable if I continued. When I’m sick like this, it’s hard for me to focus. I had already sent the email with my list of tasks for the day to my boss, and when I looked at it again, I realized a lot of the items on my list required a lot of focus and that, well, I just wouldn’t be able to give it today. (There are several drafts in the queue to be edited and written.)

I sighed, gave up, and I sent him a quick “hey, I’m not feeling well” text, put on my standard out-of-office message (whoever thought of those was an absolute genius), and went back to bed.

I woke up later with my stomach growling to be fed–to incredible news. Bruce Springsteen, my favorite musician of all time, released his tour dates this morning. I’d heard rumors late last night that they were coming, but rumors are just rumors. They’re not necessarily the truth.

Lo and behold, there they were. The dates for the concerts. One in DC at the end of January, one in my college town in early February.

The last tour he embarked on was in 2014 and I missed the concerts in DC and in my college town back in New York. I was finishing my service in AmeriCorps at the time and was in New York when he was in DC and in Maryland when he was in New York. Two ships passing in the night.

I called my mom at lunch time, as I was finishing preparing a pan full of homefries (my favorite breakfast staple) and asked her if she’d want to see him in New York with me.

The last time we went to see Bruce Springsteen in concert, I was dating a girl at the time who later went on to crush my heart and my spirit and it was the first girl I’d dated who went on to meet my parents, even though I wasn’t out to my dad at the time. (This is a story for another post another day.)

We didn’t sit together at the concert; my mom got her ticket from a friend who is possibly the biggest Springsteen fangirl I’ve ever met and absolutely adore. Her seats were better than mine, but we were texting through the whole concert. About halfway through, the woman sitting next to my mom got up and never came back; I could’ve taken her seat. Missed opportunity there. It is, to this day, still the best concert I’ve ever been to. I’ve seen Fleetwood Mac and Cher with Pat Benetar since, but Springsteen is still my favorite.

I have wanted to see him again for such a long time. I vowed that I would see Springsteen actually with my mom. I wanted to the last tour, the High Hopes tour, but it didn’t work out. Timing was bad, my service term got in the way (even though it’s still the greatest thing that’s ever happened to me).

February is going to be a great month and I’m really looking forward to it.

One thought on “Sick Days and Springsteen

Leave a Reply

