Despite everything, be thankful.

Today has been a difficult day.

I tried to commute to the office this morning. I overslept, leaving the house just a little after normal, after running out of the house.

I missed my normal bus. When that happens, I have to walk an extra half mile to get to another bus that runs a little more often. I was very close to getting to that stop before I saw the bus drive past.

The second bus at that stop was about to come, and when I went to reach for my Metro card so I could get on the bus, I realized I left it in my other jacket. And so, home I trudged, back through the drizzling rain. I teleworked today and found out about the sad situation in California.

It’s hard for me to think about good things when there are sad things happening.

But, I am still happy about several things.

Blankets. There are few things in life that make me happier than blankets do. The top blanket is a weighted blanket, designed to help ground and center people with anxiety and are often used by people with autism. For me, it helps ease my anxiety and is very cozy. Plus, the monkeys are really cute.

A photo posted by Jessica Stapf (@jstapfinator) on Oct 27, 2015 at 5:45pm PDT

 

Peanut butter. It’s my favorite. Whenever I’m feeling sad, all I need is a jar of peanut butter and a spoon. It’s always been my favorite comfort food.

New books. Or just books in general. They’re a great way to escape reality when you need to. Three years ago, when I was going through a lot of stuff, I was reading constantly. It helps change your perspective and temporarily transports you out of a situation you may not want to be in. It’s not a perfect fix, nor is it a permanent fix, but it’s great.

My current read is Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On which I am appreciating immensely. Especially since the spells in the book are right up my alley. (There’s one called “Candle in the wind.” Yes, like the Elton John song.)

My job. It allows me to work from home when I have bad commutes and when I feel crappy and lets me write and write and write and write and edit to my heart’s content. I’m very happy to do what I do.

Jeopardy. My favorite game show. There is nothing better than random questions that I tend to know the answers to. And the Daily Double song is fun to sing.

My family. But more specifically, my mom. Whenever I feel sad, I always call my mom and talk to her about mundane and lame things. But that always makes me smile.

My girlfriend. She’s great. We’ve been together nine whole months now (my longest relationship ever) and the fact that she’s not totally sick of me yet is a completely amazing feat. I’m a very lucky lady.

A photo posted by Jessica Stapf (@jstapfinator) on Nov 21, 2015 at 4:32pm PST

 

Yule (B)logging. Without this challenge, I wouldn’t have had to force myself to think about happy things and I would’ve felt sad for the rest of the day–if not longer. So for this, I am very thankful.

I may feel sad and the world may feel sad, but there are always things to be thankful for.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Despite everything, be thankful.

  1. Aw, I’m sorry you had a rough day today too. Why are days being so hard this week? Be easier, world. But I’m so glad Yule (B)logging cheered you up a bit! THREE CHEERS FOR #YULED. And three cheers for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

