Turning Over a New Leaf

Today is July 1st. It’s a big day. It’s the official anniversary of my move to Washington, DC. And while I no longer live in the District proper, it’s a big deal. I’ve always considered myself a New Yorker (and
I’ll always be) but now that I’ve lived there a whole year, I’m feeling a little closer to the DMV than I used to.

On the other side, it’s also the first day of my new planner. While that means absolutely nothing to so many people I know, it’s a big deal to me. I bought my first planner–a 5″ by 8″ daily planner that fits the bill for exactly what I’m looking to do–right before I started my current job. It’s traveled hundreds if not thousands of miles with me via car, train, Metro, and even airplane. It’s full of Post-its, colored Pilot inks, and accomplished tasks. I’m a little attached. I’m very fussy about my planners and how they’re organized. I need a true daily planner, one that has a page for every day and enough space for me to write. (I have a large, bubbly handwriting style.) I use it to keep track of what I do at work every day and even affectionately refer to it as my “what I had for lunch today book.”

Now that I’ve finished that one and somewhat reluctantly moved on to the new one, it’s so utterly bittersweet. It’s not just a book, it’s a signal that I’ve finally got a semblance of consistency. It’s odd to have been in the same job, in the same place (almost) for nearly a year. Not saying I don’t like having the continuity.

I guess I’ve just never really been comfortable with turning over new leaves…not even of paper.

Capture

Leave a Reply

