Can You Really Teach an Old Dog New Tricks?

The type of work I do is very different than the type of work that used to be (and for the most part is still) done in this agency. So, naturally, it’s a little difficult to get things that I need to be done accomplished.

A lot of old-type media outreach (we’re talking radio interviews as one of our primary sources) have been tossed around and that’s great. I get that there are a lot of people who may not have social media accounts or smartphones. But the fact of the matter is there are a lot of people who do. There have been a lot of fill-in-the-blank, recycled-from-other-previous-assignments materials floating around. It’s a quick fix for a situation that is pretty much constantly under some sort of time crunch.

Trying to make sure that everyone understands and realizes the importance of creative, digital media-oriented outreach is one of the biggest challenges of this job.

I knew it would be coming in. And I am clearly very ready to accomplish it. I’ve got a lot of great ideas and a lot of enthusiasm about the work that I do. I’m still the youngest person around (and that’s always both positive and negative) so it’ll take a lot of work to prove myself and a long time–and quite possibly a lot of candy and encouragement.

Leave a Reply

