Moonlight

I used to enjoy late nights. Quiet, calm nights. Now they just leave me bitter and cold. Alone with nothing but blankets and thoughts. The nights were easier when you were here, but you’re never coming back…

I tried to sleep, I really did. I just ended up dreaming of you. I can’t let myself do that anymore. It’s been too long, you’re happy, I’m happy (or so I tell myself to get through the days), and there’s nothing to do but sit and wish I could go back and undo the damage I’d done almost two years ago now…

So much time–too much time–has passed.

And here I am, wasting more of it, being awake thinking about things I cannot change.

Leave a Reply

