Stream of Consciousness Saturday (August 9)

I’m running late! I just finished doing some volunteering so now I have a little time to take care of this!

This week’s prompt is “two.”

Two. Two feet, two hands, two eyes, two chances. I’ve been given a lot of second chances in my life. From second chances to finish essays, second chances to finish courses, second chances to fix relationships, to second chances at life. Second chances are important. You have an opportunity to take what you did wrong the first time, turn it into “lessons learned” and make a better product out of it. It’s truly remarkable.

There are so many second chances that I have been given, but so many second chances that I have given to others. When do you draw the line? How many “second chances” does one person deserve before you realize that they won’t actually take those “lessons learned” and do something with them? When do you decide that the risk is greater than the reward? When do you decide that they’ve hurt you (or themselves) enough?

For me, that’s the hardest choice of all. I’m a huge pushover–nearly to a fault. I want to make people happy and I want to see other people happy, and so if I think giving them a second chance at x, y, or z would make them happy, I have no choice but to do it. It’s something that I know I need to work on. And so, I’m giving myself a second chance. To take this moment and know that enough is enough. When people don’t deserve other chances, it’s time to take your lessons learned and put them to good use.

Leave a Reply

