Stream of Consciousness Saturday (August 2)

This week’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt is “hear/here.”

So, here goes nothing!

I live in two completely different places now. I live in a small town in Upstate New York, where I have been vacationing for the last two weeks, and I live in DC. I go outside in either place and I hear completely different things.

Here in New York, I hear near silence at this time of day/night (it’s 1:30am as I’m writing this). Bullfrogs in the backyard, an occasional car driving by on the county road my house happens to reside on. Any time more than three cars drive by at once it’s called “rush minute.” There’s truly not much traffic here. But my favorite things about this place aren’t the sounds. They’re the late night sights. The stars, to be specific. The stars in the summertime are brighter than any I’ve seen anywhere else–and I’ve done a bit of traveling now. Maybe it’s the lack of light pollution or the fact that I’m biased; I’ve lived here about 18 of my nearly 22 years. We moved to the house I live in now after my kid brother was born in 1996–exactly a week after my fourth birthday. Any time I start wishing I could leave this place in the dust and never come back, I remember those stars and I remember how much I love them.

DC is a whole different animal, nearly a completely different planet. There’s constant noise, constant hustle and bustle. And I love that. I love that there’s always something happening, always somewhere to go. I hear the construction next door, evidence of neighborhood improvements, children laughing down the street, movers, construction. It beckons me. Since I haven’t started work yet, I find myself grabbing my sneakers, my iPod full of music, and my keys and just walking down the street to see everything. Brightly colored buildings brighten my days as I walk down to Florida Avenue where I cut across to get to the Metro. It took me two and a half weeks to finally memorize the way to the nearest Metro station. But I DID IT! (It was a huge accomplishment.) I hear the chatter from the restaurants, the locals, and public transportation.

Both places are home. I’m comfortable with both, and both have made me who I am right now and who I’ll be in the future.

For now, I’ve got my sunshine, summertime, and a campfire.

Leave a Reply

