Musical (Mile) Marker

Today’s Daily Post Prompt is: “We all have songs that remind us of specific periods and events in our lives. Twenty years from now, which song will remind you of the summer of 2014?”

I’m not entirely sure what song I’d pick to remind me of this absolutely insane summer. Looking back through my Mixtape Monday playlists since I started this blog helps a little bit, but it’s hard to pick just one… 

There’s the overly catchy “Fancy” by Iggy Azalea:

 

This song is a lot of people’s “song of the summer” though–it’s catchy and has been “overplayed” according to some. (Me, I can’t get enough of it. Especially not the Jimmy Fallon/CSN version!)

But then I keep thinking and I remember “Strong Enough” by Cher and all of the memories that come along with it. 

 

The first time I heard it, it was live: at the Verizon Center in DC. I got to see Cher in concert, on her Dressed to Kill tour. I fell in love with it almost immediately. Fast forward a couple months and I’m standing on stage at Nellie’s, singing this song to my heart’s content. I love karaoke and I smile thinking about how many compliments I got after singing that song. (Cher in a gay bar is always a safe bet.)

But then it hits me. The song of the summer to me is one that I actually haven’t put on a Monday playlist. Mainly because I keep forgetting it. It’s probably my favorite song of the whole summer and I can’t help but smile every time it comes on.

“Sunshine and Whiskey” by Frankie Ballard.

 

This summer has been full of both of those things. Sunshine not only because of the weather that has been amazing in both places I call home, but also because of all of the happiness I feel. My life is in a pretty great place right now.

There’s been a bit of whiskey as well, since the always reliable Captain Morgan has recently been replaced by Jack Daniel’s–preferably the Tennessee Honey variety. 

It’s been a great summer and I’m excited for the rest of it.

Leave a Reply

