Adult Visions

This prompt actually comes at an interesting time. In eleven days I will be turning 22. Old enough to vote, to smoke cigarettes, to buy lottery tickets, to drink alcohol. Technically, an adult…all over again. It’s an age I’ve feared just a little bit–knowing all the “fun milestone” birthdays have passed: 13, 16, 18, and 21.

My life as an adult is nothing like I ever thought it would be. 

  • I never thought I would have a federal government job. I thought I’d be working in non-profits.
  • I never thought I would be living in DC. I thought I’d live in New York forever.
  • I never imagined I would discover homosexuality. I was “boy-crazy” growing up–but it was only a facade as I look back on it…
  • I never thought I would’ve done a year of service. I thought it’d be high school, college, grad school.

I think about this kind of thing a lot more than I probably should. I think about what it would’ve been like had I not made x, y, or z decision. What my life would’ve been like had I decided to transfer from UAlbany, had I decided to take Spanish in 7th grade (which would’ve made me miserable because I hate Spanish–mainly because I can’t roll my Rs), or had I decided to do Traditional AmeriCorps NCCC.

I’m glad things have turned out as they have. I wouldn’t trade my life for anything else. It’s pretty great.

Evidence of Changes:

My Dream Job Now vs. My Dream Job When I Was a Kid

This post is brought to you by the masterminds of The Daily Post.

Leave a Reply

