Today…

Today, I stepped away from my big laptop screen, from my iPad mini’s screen, and back toward the screen of my Kindle Paperwhite–aptly named “Dot.” I originally got the Paperwhite for a class with a professor who was “unkind” (to put it politely) and didn’t approve of the use of laptops to read in class. Each of the readings was online–you had two options: get an eReader or print them all. I chose the former, believing it was a worthwhile investment.

As a woman with electronics with purposes that occasionally overlap, I thought the Kindle wouldn’t be a good idea. But, with those overlapping purposes, I find the Kindle to be a reprieve. There’s nothing but a book on it. I can’t distract myself with social media or anything else. It’s just me and a book. 

It’s refreshing, to be able to do that. I’ll take the iPad and use it as a music device and leave myself to my date with literature.

This week I have finished reading Pulp by Charles Bukowski. I’ve been an avid Bukowski reader for nearly a year now. I think what I love most about him is his ability to not care about what anyone else thinks. Just write as he’s feeling–as he’s thinking. 

Last night, after mulling it over for some time, I decided to pick up something completely different than a Bukowski. I started The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. I haven’t gotten very far, but so far I’m enjoying it. I have seen the differences even within the first two chapters. It’s nice to have the time to read recreationally again and I’m hoping that my reading will influence my writing for the positive. 

We shall see. Has anyone else read any interesting books lately? 

17 thoughts on “Today…

  1. I love my Paperwhite. Absolutely love it. I fought for a long time against the idea, but damned if I am not sold on having a library at my fingertips, that I can read anywhere, dark or light. it’s like living in the future – it’s Star Trek in the palm of my hand.

    I just finished two good books. Mockingbird, by blogger/writer extraordinaire Chuck Wendig, which is a sequel to Blackbirds, and Skin Game, by the ever awesome Jim Butcher. I am about to start the next book in Wendig’s series, but I’ll be honest – those books are great, but brutal. They beat you up and leave you worn out after. So I might slide into something old and familiar. Revisit Zelany’s Amber perhaps.

    1. I’m really glad someone else can appreciate the greatness of the Kindle. While nothing will ever be able to replace the feel of a real book in my eyes, it’s great to be able to have access to every book I could ever want to read.

      I haven’t read a book that has destroyed me like that in such a long time. Sometimes it’s a great feeling. There’s nothing better than being able to read an old favorite though. I love a book that I’m comfortable in–that I read and loved time and time again.

      1. An old favorite is like an old friend. It can drop in, get comfortable without being told what to do, sits back with you and laughs when you remember that one time…

      2. There aren’t any awkward “oh I guess you really had to be there” moments because they were there. Those characters become your closest friends and family members. They’re there to comfort you and console you.

      3. A very close tie between two works by the same author. The first is Roger Zelazny’s Chronicles of Amber. I’ve read the series at least a dozen times and each time find something new, some interesting little clue that I somehow missed the dozen times before. And Zelazny’s A Night in the Lonesome October. An absolutely amazing book about Jack the Ripper, his faithful dog, and the coming of the Old Gods. A brilliant bit of humor and mystery.

      4. I’m a hopeless romantic cliche of a young adult woman… Mine would have to be The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. There’s something about the way he writes and the way that he wrote that book that made it one of my favorites long ago. My copy of the book has gone through hell and back–been there for me through countless failed relationships, and stood the test of the time. The movie will never compare, particularly since they butchered the ending to make it “fit” the romantic movie genre. As I’m starting to get a little older (I’m laughing to myself saying that since I’m only nearly 22…) I’m realizing that there are many different kinds of books and I’m becoming much more openminded about reading. When I was younger, it was all about the romance novels. Now I can read just about anything and enjoy it.

      5. Sparks is a brilliant writer. Even a non-romantic reader can appreciate that. 🙂 But yes, diversity, my dear, will serve you well. Read much. Read often. Read everything. And it will make you an extraordinarily well-rounded writer as well as reader.

      6. I read a lot of Bukowski’s works now and it has really changed my writing style. I look back at what I wrote before and I can see a huge difference. Now hat I have more time to read and have been avidly reading, I’m excited to see what other changes I can make. Reading the way other bloggers write has definitely helped as well.

  2. I absolutely loved The Picture of Dorian Gray, I wasn’t as huge a fan of the movie, but the book was fantastic.

    I’m slightly envious of you as I have not had much time for leisure reading in quite a while.

    As far as electronics in classes, I find it a little crazy how, I only graduated 6 years ago, and laptops were frowned upon, whereas now, already most students are encouraged to use laptops. It’s weird.

    1. I’m not quite far enough into Dorian to decide whether or not I like it yet. It’s definitely different that what I usually read!

      I’ve only got tie to read now because i haven’t “officially” begun my job, so it’s a great way to pass the time while waiting to do so.

      I remember being in high school and not being allowed to have laptops in class or even in school, but once I was in college it was a completely different atmosphere.

Leave a Reply

