Late Nights

Sometimes there are nights where you can’t sleep–where you’re awake with nothing beside you but the thoughts in your head. Tonight is one of those nights. I find myself here, in my pajamas, struggling to string words together. 

And then there are ideas that stick with you, a little ten-word-story that goes a little something like this: “I’m homesick for arms that don’t want to hold me.”

It replays over and over and over in my mind. I’ve been homesick for those arms for as long as I can remember–since the last time you held me. I’ve dreamt of them often. 

And now that I feel myself slipping into the slumber I’ve desired for hours, I know that they’ll be right there in my dreams again tonight.

One thought on “Late Nights

  1. Have you ever correlated those wakeful nights to the cycle of the moon? I never did, for myself, but when both of my children followed my pattern I noticed that all three of us are wakeful as the moon nears and approaches full.

    I use that time for writing, now, or watching PBS or Star Trek:Enterprise, or talking to one or both of those wakeful kids, or reading, or letting stories and dreams roll through my head…

    Your little story is poignant and evocative, and I kind of want to give you a hug right now, although it wouldn’t be the same…

Leave a Reply

