My Favorite DC Spots: Sixth Engine

DC is a very interesting place. It’s full of great places to eat, drink, and have fun. Sixth Engine is one of those. I had gone there for brunch (my first ever adult brunch-eon) with a few coworkers and it was a delightful experience.

Any place that has bottomless mimosas is great in my book. Sixth Engine has that and more. Including a lot of history.

Engine Co. No. 6 is one of the oldest firehouses in the District and the first of Cluss’s nearly 100 buildings to be constructed in D.C. in the late 19th century. It’s one of only 11 still standing. The kind of fires we’re putting out have changed a bit, but the original helmet still hangs above our door.

sixth_engine_dc_02

It’s unique, has a great atmosphere (whatever that means) and is in a great part of town: Chinatown. I’ll write a separate post about Chinatown later. It’s got a lot of charm for me.

For now, I’ll be waiting to get back to DC so I can go back and hopefully get my hands on some apple fritters.

For menus and more information about Sixth Engine, visit their website.

Leave a Reply

