Stream of Consciousness Saturday (June 21)

When I was in high school, one of my teachers always encouraged us to free write. Just write anything, it doesn’t matter if it makes any sense. When I was in college, I had a professor do the same. I always enjoyed those projects. It gave me a chance to empty out what was in my head, to get things straight, and to basically improve my skills as a writer.

Linda writes a stream of consciousness each Saturday, which is basically one of these projects. The prompts are posted the day before so you have a little time to think about it. I hadn’t thought to make something like that a feature on my blog, but I definitely think I’ll be participating much more often.

This week’s prompt is the word “like.” And so, here goes nothing…

…I liked you. I always liked you. I still like you on days when I don’t like myself and where my like life is going. I don’t like thinking of you every day and I definitely don’t like the dreams that come when I spend too long thinking about “what might have been.” We were friends, we were lovers, and now we’re nothing more than acquaintances–someone I used to know.

I could like you. Never as much as I liked her, but I could like you. She set the bar far too high and I’m afraid that I’ll never be able to like like that again. I like talking to you. I like hearing your stories and I like your face. I don’t like that we have the same name and that you’re younger than me. I don’t like dating younger. I don’t like dating long distance and I don’t like getting hurt–which is what I fear. I fear dying alone just a little bit more and so I’m willing to take the risk.

I like liking someone. I like making people happy; I like making you happy.

But, I like my career and I like putting it first. I like being a professional in a fast-paced environment. I like knowing that as long as I have my career, I’ll always have someone to like me. And as Lady Gaga said, “…Remember, your career will never wake up and tell you it doesn’t love you anymore.”

2 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness Saturday (June 21)

  1. Nicely done! It has a true stream of consciousness feel to it, the kind that helps to sort out feelings and how they affect us.
    Thanks so much for participating! I’ll look forward to seeing you back next week 😀

Leave a Reply

