Nice Guy Syndrome

I have discovered as of late that I feel like a little bit of a “nice guy.” According to the ever-helpful Urban Dictionary*, a “nice guy” is classified as “the person every girl will compare their would-be boyfriends to, for they possess every trait a woman desires. However, for whatever reason, women avoid them like the plague.”

I try to be kind, honest, and sincere with every woman I talk to. Sometimes, so much to a fault. I “catch feelings” relatively easily and the only thing I want for anyone is to be happy. I’ve had it happen time and time again, where I confess feelings and get the “I’m flattered, but I just don’t feel the same way” spiel, and many “nice guys” can get offended by this.

But not this one. This “nice guy” is happy for them. I know that it’s hard to say those things, because I’ve also seen that side. I understand. I also know that a quality I tend to be attracted to is being able to know what you deserve and going after it. If I’m not exactly up to what your specifications are in a mate, well then I’m perfectly happy to be a friend and help you find what you’re looking for.

I used to get offended, feel sorry for myself, but in being a girl I’d go for, I know that I deserve better than that. I’m just glad those women that are in my life know what they want. It makes me happy that they want me in their lives.

But don’t worry–I don’t wear fedoras. I’m not that kind of “nice guy.”

*The definition taken is definition number 4.

One thought on “Nice Guy Syndrome

  1. “Definition #4?” Haha. I didn’t know there could be so many! I’ll have to spend more time reading the urban dictionary, I think. 😛
    Thanks for the follow. Nice to meet you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

