Related to Relationships

Dating is complicated. I don’t like dating. I like being in a relationship, but I hate dating.

I’m a serial short-term dater. I’ve never had a relationship last longer than six months. I chalk it up to me being more of an “acquired taste” in that I’m a complex individual with a lot of nuances.

Dating in high school was not a thing for me. I didn’t do it. Dating in college was strange. That was when I figured out that I preferred women to men and became a little more comfortable with the idea of dating.

But it still isn’t easy for me. I’ve had my share of relationships, some more successful than others; some starting out of friendships, some starting out of internet conversations, some long distance… I feel like I’ve tried nearly everything.

I’m at a point in my life where my career has to and does come first, but there are times when I wish I could have it all–the career and the successful relationship.

Leave a Reply

